I am a seed,
My father gave me

The roots

That ground me to this earth
That tell me who I am,

Where I belong.

My mother gave me

The stem
That helped me grow


Bending but never breaking,

Through the storms

My mind is the bud,
Waiting to blossom.

Beautiful and bewildering.

The veins in my tightened petals

Expand quickly,

Stretching in the sunshine,

Closer every day.

My stem is bending
toward the light,
Binding me to the soil.

My roots grow deeper

As my stem grows taller
And my flower burns brighter

Than ever before.

One thought on “two lips

Leave a Reply

